top of page

Garlic Parmesan Zoodles

Hey guys! I haven't shared a recipe with you in a WHILE - I'm SO sorry about that! Things have been crazy busy with the end of the school year and baby preparation - we're expecting a baby in September and we're super excited to add to our family!

I've been learning SO much through our new nutrition course, and as a result my dinners lately have been SO healthy and YUMMY! I want to share one with you. If you try it, you'll have to let me know what you think!

Garlic Parmesan Zoodles

Have you tried "zoodles" yet? Some of you may be rolling your eyes because you eat them every week, but there are quite a few people out there who still give me that crazy look when I talk about them. For those who don't know, they are noodles made out of spiralized zucchini, and they are DELISH! Not to mention, SUPER easy to make! I use this spiralizer that I got off Amazon for about 20 bucks. It's a genius (and easy) way to cut back on carbs AND get more veggies in your life - which is a HUGE part of the nutrition program I've been using. I now eat zoodles at least twice a week for dinner - and it doesn't only have to be a replacement for spaghetti noodles!
Check out this light and tasty recipe for Garlic Parmesan Zoodles - I added chopped grilled chicken to my bowl to make it a complete meal, but you could also serve it as a side!

Ingredients:
4 medium zucchini (about 2 pounds)
3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 Tbsp minced garlic
2 medium tomatoes, chopped (you can also use a can of diced tomatoes - just be sure to drain first!)
1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving (if desired)
1 cup basil leaves, torn into small pieces
Salt and pepper to taste
Directions:
1. Trim the ends off your zucchini and spiralize them. (You'll have some long zoodles when you're done! Be sure to cut them down a bit for easier eating.)
2. Add olive oil and garlic to a large skillet and turn to medium heat. When the garlic begins to sizzle, add your zoodles. Toss the zoodles continuously with pasta tongs and cook until al dente — they should be a little wilted, but still have a crunch! This doesn't take long - I don't like mine too mushy, so I only cook them for 2-4 minutes.
3. Add in the tomatoes, basil, and Parmesan cheese, and cook for one more minute - keep tossing to mix it all up.
4. Remove from heat and use the tongs to serve onto 4 plates (or bowls). Add a protein of your choice for a complete dinner! We added chopped grilled chicken, but shrimp or steak would be yummy, too! These could also be served on the side. The possibilities are endless!

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Sign up for FREE weekly recipes, meal plans and updates!

bottom of page